Catapults – Beware Castles and Cars

In my latest novel, Betrayal of the Covenant, the catapult plays an important role in an attack on Tierran’s Wall, an impregnable barrier between the north and south. A wall that is the key to winning back the entire island country of Taran.

Some folks have wondered how a catapult, also called a trebuchet or mangonel, could possibly damage stone walls a 120-feet high and 25-feet thick, that have stood for over a thousand years.

Well, I tell them that a large trebuchet could throw a 220 pound projectile up to 980 feet at the enemy. There were a few monster catapults that could throw even bigger objects a longer distance.

As machine guns, cannons, and aircraft were brought into war, the catapult was still in use as late as World War 1. Both sides had built trenches with a no-mans land sometimes hundreds of yards apart. It was hard to harass the enemy when they were dug down that far away. Along came the catapult. Small versions of the giant device were used to launch grenades across into the enemy’s trenches. These gave way later to the mortar

Catapults are even in use today – slingshots.

But don’t take my word for how powerful these weapons can be – the ingenuity of modern man has demonstrated this for me. See this YouTube video.

Can you imagine being a defender, standing atop the wall of your castle, and a Volvo came flying out of the sky. I think the flaming piano was a nice touch.

Check out Betrayal of the Covenant to see which one won – Tierran’s Wall or the Mangonels.

Dragon-Called Books

Do you like Epic books that don’t end right after they begin; Adventure and Suspense books that keep you on the edge, Romantic books with confident and spirited female characters, Magical books with creatures and supernatural events, and don’t forget Coming of Age books that bring us into adulthood. Well, you can find it all […]

Betrayal of the Covenant Released

The second book of the Dragon-Called series is now available. See below to find out how to Purchase Your Copy (Paperback, Digital, and copies Inscribed by the author). Betrayal of the Covenant Description: Tracked by minions of the evil Shin-il priests, the Dragon-Called twins, Rowyn and Willoe, journey on a quest to the Hoarfrost Mountains. […]

Betrayal for the Holidays

The second book in the Dragon-Called series is coming – are you ready for it? The first book, Fire of the Covenant, received 4.8 Stars on Amazon and hundreds of readers have eagerly anticipated the continuation of the tale. I am pleased to announce that Betrayal of the Covenant will be available in time to […]

Dragon-Called Series T-Shirt – Revised

I’ve had a few people ask me a question about the tee and some made a comment on the designs. I thought best to answer by revising this post and sending it out again. (Also watch for an announcement coming in a couple of days about a limited time special discount on the first book […]

Return to top of page
Copyright © 2017 Peter CruikshankLog inRegister • About PeterContact Us
Comment RSSEntries RSS • [Un]Subscribe